Accreditation Workgroup Established for 2021-2025

photos of Martha Mock and Stephanie Smith Lee, chair and past chair of the Accreditation Workgroup

The  2021-2025 Accreditation workgroup has been convened by the National Coordinating Center (NCC) to support the development of a program accreditation process for college programs for students with intellectual disability.  Past workgroups developed, field tested and refined model program accreditation standards. The current workgroup, under the leadership of Dr. Martha Mock of the University of Rochester as chairperson and Stephanie Smith Lee as past chair will support the NCC as they draft, pilot, refine and implement a program accreditation process so that the program accreditation standards finalized in 2020 may be used to accredit college programs.  

The assembled workgroup represents a wide array of stakeholders, bringing expertise in college programs for students with intellectual disability, higher education accreditation, employment of individuals with disabilities, disability policy and higher education administration.


Think College National Coordinating Center Accreditation Work Group, 2021 – 2025


Martha Mock, PhD

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor, Warner School of Education

University of Rochester, Rochester, NY


Past Chair

Stephanie Smith Lee

Senior Policy Advisor, National Down Syndrome Congress, Charlotte, NC



W. Drew Andrews, Ed.D.

Assistant Director and Technical Assistance Coordinator, Florida Center for Students with Unique Abilities

University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL


Carol Britton Laws, PhD, MSW, FAAIDD

Assistant Clinical Professor in Disability Studies; Director, Destination Dawgs Inclusive Postsecondary Education at UGA; Institute on Human Development and Disability/UCEDD, College of Family and Consumer Sciences, University of Georgia, Athens, GA


Mary Judge Diegert, MS

Assistant Director, Center for Disability and Education

Warner School of Education

University of Rochester, Rochester, NY


Jon Fansmith

Director, Government Relations, Division of Government and Public Affairs

American Council on Education, Washington, DC


Therese Fimian

Director of Operations, Marc Gold & Associates, Vienna, VA


Wilbert (Wil) Frances, MBA

Project Director, Open the Doors to College, University of California-Los Angeles

Tarjan Center, Los Angeles, CA


Debra Hart, MS

Principal Investigator, Think College National Coordinating Center

University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA


William (Bill) Loyd, Jr.. PhD

University of Iowa REACH Director, College of Education, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA


David Mank, PhD

Professor Emeritus, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN


Cynthia (Cindi) May, PhD

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC


Michelle Mitchell, MEd, CRC

Professor and Learning Specialist, Disability Support Services

Lehigh Carbon Community College, Schnecksville, PA


Tracy Rand

Managing Director, Disability Services, Bergen Community College, Paramus, NJ


Linda Rhen, EdD

Associate Teaching Professor, Associate Chair of Assessment & Accreditation

Director, Career Studies Program

Pennsylvania State University at Harrisburg, PA


Terri Shelton, PhD

Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement, Carol Jenkins Mattocks Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, NC


Chrisann Schiro-Geist, PhD

Professor and Director, University of Memphis, Institute on Disability, Memphis, TN


Sean J. Smith, PhD

Professor, Department of Special Education, School of Education and Human Services, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS


Stephan Smith

Executive Director, Association on Higher Education and Disability, Charlotte, NC


Madeleine Will

Policy expert and advisor, Washington, DC


Ex Officio Members


Meg Grigal, PhD

Principal Investigator, Think College National Coordinating Center

University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA


Cate Weir, MEd

Program Director, Think College National Coordinating Center

University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA