New Accreditation Workgroup Established for 2021-2025

photos of Martha Mock and Stephanie Smith Lee, chair and past chair of the Accreditation Workgroup

The Think College National Coordinating Center has established a new Accreditation Workgroup to support the development of a program accreditation process for college programs for students with intellectual disability.  Past workgroups have been convened by the National Coordinating Center to develop, field test and refine model program accreditation standards.  This new workgroup, under the leadership of Dr. Martha Mock of the University of Rochester as chairperson and Stephanie Smith Lee as past chair will support the NCC as they draft, pilot, refine and implement a program accreditation process so that the program accreditation standards finalized in 2020 may be used to accredit college programs.  

The Accreditation workgroup will meet for the first time on February 4, 2021.  They will review the work done to date that has resulted in the publication of Model Program Accreditation Standards and begin the discussion related to the creation of an program accreditation process, to include the development of procedures and tools needed to implement an accreditation process that can be piloted and refined.

We are delighted with the individuals who have agreed to participate with us as members of the 2021-2025 Accreditation Workgroup. The full membership is listed below.

Think College National Coordinating Center Accreditation Work Group

2021 – 2025

Chair

Martha Mock, PhD

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor, Warner School of Education

University of Rochester, Rochester, NY

mmock@warner.rochester.edu

 

Past Chair

Stephanie Smith Lee

Senior Policy Advisor, National Down Syndrome Congress, Charlotte, NC

stephaniesmithlee@gmail.com

 

Members

W. Drew Andrews, Ed.D.

Assistant Director and Technical Assistance Coordinator, Florida Center for Students with Unique Abilities

University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL

drew.andrews@ucf.edu

 

Carol Britton Laws, PhD, MSW, FAAIDD

Assistant Clinical Professor in Disability Studies; Director, Destination Dawgs Inclusive Postsecondary Education at UGA; Institute on Human Development and Disability/UCEDD, College of Family and Consumer Sciences, University of Georgia, Athens, GA

cblaws@uga.edu

 

Jon Fansmith

Director, Government Relations, Division of Government and Public Affairs

American Council on Education, Washington, DC

jfansmith@acenet.edu

 

Therese Fimian

Director of Operations, Marc Gold & Associates, Vienna, VA

tfimian@marcgold.com

 

Wilbert (Wil) Frances, MBA

Project Director, Open the Doors to College, University of California-Los Angeles

Tarjan Center, Los Angeles, CA

wfrancis@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Debra Hart, MS

Principal Investigator, Think College National Coordinating Center

University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA

Debra.Hart@umb.edu

 

William (Bill) Loyd, Jr.. PhD

University of Iowa REACH Director, College of Education, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA

william-loydjr@uiowa.edu

 

David Mank, PhD

Professor Emeritus, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN

dmank@indiana.edu

 

Cynthia (Cindi) May, PhD

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Charleston, Charleston, SC

mayC@cofc.edu

 

Michelle Mitchell, MEd, CRC

Professor and Learning Specialist, Disability Support Services

Lehigh Carbon Community College, Schnecksville, PA

mmitchell@lccc.edu

 

Tracy Rand

Managing Director, Disability Services, Bergen Community College, Paramus, NJ

trand@bergen.edu

 

Linda Rhen, EdD

Associate Teaching Professor, Associate Chair of Assessment & Accreditation

Director, Career Studies Program

Pennsylvania State University at Harrisburg, PA

lxr29@psu.edu

 

Terri Shelton, PhD

Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement, Carol Jenkins Mattocks Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, NC

shelton@uncg.edu

 

Chrisann Schiro-Geist, PhD

Professor and Director, University of Memphis, Institute on Disability, Memphis, TN

cschrgst@memphis.edu

 

Sean J. Smith, PhD

Professor, Department of Special Education, School of Education and Human Services, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS

seanj@ku.edu

 

Stephan Smith

Executive Director, Association on Higher Education and Disability, Charlotte, NC

stephan@ahead.org

 

Madeleine Will

Policy expert and advisor, Washington, DC

madeleinecwill@gmail.com

 

Ex Officio Members

 

Meg Grigal, PhD

Principal Investigator, Think College National Coordinating Center

University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA

Meg.Grigal@umb.edu

 

Cate Weir, MEd

Program Director, Think College National Coordinating Center

University of Massachusetts, Boston, MA
cathryn.weir@umb.edu